SA Rugby has Released the 2023 Currie Cup Schedule

SA Rugby has Released the 2023 Currie Cup Schedule

SA Rugby has Released the 2023 Currie Cup Schedule

2023 Currie Cup Premier Division Fixtures


SA Rugby has released a newly planned tournament structure for their domestic rugby season in 2023. The 2023 Currie Cup Premier Division will be expanded.

Last year's First Division champions, the Griffons, will thus be included in the Premier Division, which will now consist of eight teams that will compete against one another over two rounds of games.

The Griffons, the previous season's First Division champions, will now play in the Premier Division, which will have eight clubs and two rounds of games.

The Sharks, Bulls, Storm, and Lions are four South African sides that are currently taking part in the United Rugby Championship (URC), which concludes on May 27 with the championship match.

 The first round of the Currie Cup Premier Division schedule will be conducted on March 10 and 11, and the final will happen on June 24. Don't miss the 2023 Currie Cup rugby live stream on your smart devices across the world in full HD.

It is impossible that South Africa's top players will take part in the Currie Cup Premier Division's 2023 schedule as the schedule overlaps with games in the URC and Champions/Challenge Cup.

Simultaneously, six South African clubs will compete in the Currie Cup First Division, which begins on February 10. With no final, the team with the highest ranking on the table will be proclaimed the victor.

The Diables (Spain), Simbas (Kenya), Welwitschias (Namibia), Tel-Aviv Heat (Israel), and Goshawks are five overseas teams that will subsequently join these teams in the new Mzansi Challenge, which begins on March 24. (Zimbabwe).

The Mzanzi Challenge will feature a single round of competition amongst the 11 teams over the course of the 14-week timeframe, with semifinals and a final slated for mid-June.

The winner of the Currie Cup First Division will be determined by the team with the most points at the end of the season (only matches involving SA teams will count). This competition will pit the six South African clubs against one another.


SA Rugby’s new tournament Structure:

Currie Cup Premier Division

Participating Teams:

Western Province, Griquas,  Pumas (defending champions), Bulls, Cheetahs, Sharks, Lions, Griffons.

Opening Round: March 10/11 (double round of matches)
Final: June 24

Mzansi Challenge & Currie Cup First Division

Participating Teams:


Border Bulldogs, Leopards, Eastern Province, Valke, Boland Cavaliers, SWD Eagles – (Currie Cup First Division); Welwitschias (Namibia), Simbas (Kenya), Diables (Spain), Tel-Aviv Heat (Israel) and Goshawks (Zimbabwe) – (Mzanzi Challenge)

Opening round: February 10/11
Mzansi Challenge Final: June 17

Women’s Premier Division

Participating Teams:

Mastercard Golden Lions Women, Western Province, Blue Bulls Women, Border Ladies (defending champions), EP Queens, Boland Dames, Sharks Women

The opening round and final: TBC

Women’s First Division

Participating Teams:

Limpopo,Leopards, Valke, Griffons, Pumas, Free State, Griquas, SWD
Opening round and final: TBC

SA Rugby U20 Cup

Participating Teams: Bulls,  Western Province, Lions (defending champions), Cell C Sharks, Leopards, Cheetahs, Valke

Opening round: February 17/18 (single round of matches)
Final: April 6

SA Rugby U21 Cup

Participating Teams:

Bulls, Lions, Cheetahs, Western Province, Leopards, Sharks,
Opening round: August 18/19 (single round of matches)

Final: October 14
SA Rugby U21 Shield

Participating teams:

Eastern Province, Boland, Border, Griquas, SWD,Griffons, Limpopo, Pumas, Valke
Opening round: August 4/5 (single round of matches)
Final: October 14


Share this post